Animation & Explanation made by BIGS

The animation starts with a click on the picture.
In this animation c
hange the setting from German to English or in a other Language first. The animation is also available as an app at:

Amazon


Further reading:



The user can switch in this animation between the languages German, English, Spanish (Español), Chines (中国人), Russian (русский), Arabic, Korean (한국어) and Japanes (日本):

  • Brennstoffzelle (PMFC)
  • Fuel Cell (PMFC)
  • La célula de combustible de membrana (PEMFC)
  • 通过播放控制 (PEMFC)
  • Топливный элемент (PMFC)
  • خلية وقود الاحتراق  (PMFC)
  • 연료전지 (PMFC)
  • 燃料電池 (PMFC)


Genaral information on “Fuel cell” 

A Controlled reaction takes place in the schematically depicted fuel cell of Hydrogen and Oxygen into water- molecules if the electrodes get connected. The reaction rate is proportional to the current or so to say the resistance between the poles determines the conversion rate of hydrogen and oxygen. A current runs due to the electrochemical potential and the resulting potential difference between the electrodes which reaches the theoretical value of 1.2 V between the cathode and the anode.

More information:
These reactions proceed as follows: Molecular Hydrogen reaches by diffusion the anode which is made of a noble metal (usually titanium). The anode take effect as catalyst and divided the hydrogen into positively charged ions – protons ( H+) and free electrons (e). The protons move through the membrane, whereas the electrons create a current trough the external circuit. At the cathode the oxygen reacts with the protons and electrons to water. Again the reaction is accelerated by means of a titanium catalyst.

The circuit is closed that way by production of the only “waste” as by-product – namely water.

A single fuel cell shows a voltage of about 0.5V and a power of about 1 W / cm2. The efficiency of a fuel cell can be estimated directly from the voltage as the exchange rate of the fuel is solely dependent on the current.

The efficiency of fuel cell is about 90% which compares quite well to efficiencies of other electricity production methods which hardly exceed 35%.

O2      +      4e–       >>>     2O2-
2H2    >>> 4H+     +          4e
2O2-  +      4H+     >>>     2H2O


If you require more information, then click on the link below directly to Amazon:

Books: Fuel cell


Translate »

Animation & Erklärung von BIGS

Mit einem Klick auf das Bild starten Sie die Animation. Aber Achtung, der Flash Player muss herunter geladen und vom Browser zugelassen sein.

Diese Animation ist auch kostenpflichtig als mehrsprachige App für Ihr Smartphobe, Tablet oder TV erhältlich, bei:

itunes (Apple),  Google-Play oder Amazon


Weiterführende Links:

Brennstoffzelle


Allgemeines zur Brennstoffzelle

Die Animation ist eine stark vereinfachte Darstellung zur Funktion einer Brennstoffzelle. Ausführlicher inklusive unterschiedlicher Anwendungen wird diese in der interaktiven Animation “Brennstoffzelle” dargestellt.

Eine kontrollierte elektrochemische Reaktion zwischen Wasserstoff und Sauerstoff zu Wasser erfolgt in der schematisch dargestellten Brennstoffzelle dann, sobald ein elektrischer Kontakt zwischen den beiden Elektroden hergestellt wird. Die Reaktionsrate ist hierbei proportional zur Stromstärke oder so gesagt, der Widerstand zwischen den Polen bestimmt den Umsatz von Wasserstoff und Sauerstoff. Ein Strom kann fließen, da sich zwischen den Elektroden ein elektrochemisches Potential eingestellt hat, theoretisch +1,2 V an der Kathodenseite gegenüber der Anodenseite. Wie in der Animation dargestellt, laufen dabei folgende Halbreaktionen ab:

O2      +      4e–       >>>     2O2-
2H2    >>> 4H+     +          4e
2O2-  +      4H+     >>>     2H2O

Diese Reaktionen werden in der Brennstoffzelle wie folgt verwirklicht. Wasserstoffgas diffundiert an der Anode zur aktiven Elektrodenschicht, wo ein Edelmetall-Katalysator (in der Regel Platin) Wasserstoff in Protonen (H+) und Elektronen (e) zerlegt. Die Protonen gelangen durch die Membran zur Kathode, während die Elektronen durch den externen Stromkreis fließen. An der Kathode reagiert Luftsauerstoff mit Protonen und Elektronen zu Wasser. Auch hier wird die Reaktion von einem Edelmetall (in der Regel Platin) katalysiert. Der Kreislauf schließt sich, es ist Strom mit dem Abfallprodukt Wasser entstanden.

Nochmals sei darauf verwiesen, dass pro Brennstoffzelle, also ungestapelt, eine Spannung von 0,3 – 0,8 V bei einer Leistung von max. 1 W / cm2 entsteht.
Da die Umsatzrate des Brennstoffs nur von der Stromstärke abhängt, kann die Effizienz der Brenn-stoffzelle unmittelbar an der Zellspannung abgelesen werden.


Amazon

Bücher zum Theme Brennstoffzelle


Translate »